Customers…

Published by

on

Having seen just how easy it is to get swept up in sales going on at the stores, I wonder at just how divided we’ve become. Having gone to a big box store to help someone find some electronics, I’ve found that smaller stores that are more customer-focused are easier to shop at because they seem to be more personally interested in helping; it’s not that the ones at the big box store aren’t, but they seem to be interested to a different degree. In the neighbourhood where I am, there’s at least two big box stores and two smaller chains, one based in the west & one in the east; what I’ve come to realize about the two smaller chains is that the one based in the east tends to be more sales-oriented and a bit less customer-oriented, but that just may be my personal experience.

When it comes to photography, it’s about what the purpose of the image is focused on, whether it be about producing something that will sell or something that has a bit more feel to it, or some mix of the two. I tend to just focus on getting images & then forgetting about them a few days later, a bad habit that I try to fight against; with this happening, it means that a focus on feel means more time focusing on the scene itself & less chance of forgetting about it shortly afterwards. It helps when we go over images a few times more than normal because it keeps them in our minds and not as easily discarded as they would be otherwise.

- Wild Grass -
– Wild Grass –

With images like the one above, the biggest thing, in my opinion, centers around what I want to do with the image, make it public, or just do it for myself. When it comes to refining it, I’m generally going to take it slower if there’s no pressure to get it out there, but, if there is pressure, I’m most likely going to work much harder on it. The benefit of this, is that it ends up being a bit more personal when we take more time refining it so that it comes it just right; as a result, we tend to learn more when we personalize it.

Leave a comment

Previous Post
Next Post