Truthfully, I set out to write this post without a clear subject in mind, promising myself that it wouldn’t be another rant, or even something superficial…We all know that we’re bombarded with too much of that nowadays. Looking back at my old posts & photographs, listening to some of my pop-punk, country, indie & new wave music (the newest Paramore album is basically new wave), I’ve begun to wonder how on earth I was going to make sense of all this. Sometimes I wonder if I’ve gone completely off my rocker…And it’s not exactly like being normal works for me; I don’t think that it can even apply to me most of the time.

- Cascade Falls -
– Cascade Falls –

Honestly, I’ve begun to use sites & things like Behance more to help me showcase my photographic work; I get my stuff out there and it helps me feel at least some sense of relief that at least I’ve gotten that far. For me, I’ve got to get off my butt and really try harder to get somewhere with this thing I call photography, mostly because it’s a bit like therapy for me when I’m wondering what to do or when I’m feeling down. I don’t have to spend money on it like some maniac, but I do have to use what I’ve got to say something and hopefully inspire someone in the process. I don’t want to be superficial, I want to be the kind of person that looks at a waterfall like the one in the photograph above and says, Wow, I can’t believe I’m actually to see something like this, and set out to inspire others to get outside and see more than just the yard or the city.

I’m far from perfect and I’ve made more than my fair share of mistakes; it doesn’t necessarily help to dwell on the past, but to move on. The thing is, if we go into something moaning, groaning & complaining, aren’t we just setting ourselves up for failure to begin with? This, in my opinion, is something we all need to struggle to get past daily because, in this day & age, everything is so superficial, that it’s easy only to see the metaphorical surface of what’s happening around us. I struggle with this so many times that it’s almost comical and I’ve come to expect the struggle so that I can learn to improve along the way.

Leave a Reply

