Nowadays everyone seems to want to get places at certain times with certain milestones reached at that time & place. To me, I’ve almost given up on those certain milestones because I’ve come to realize, that for myself at least, that by living life by some kind of list & schedule isn’t really living at all because it leaves out time for really living at all. If I live out my life by some strict, pre-set schedule, then I wouldn’t be able to notice those around me that are hurting, whether by my own hand or that of others…And I would have missed the chance to spot the small bird looking up to see what was above him when I was out photographing flowers & birds the other day.

- Looking Up -
– Looking Up –

For me, it’s come down to the point where I’m trying to learn as I go about my day without scheduling out every minute of every day…Not that I’m the kind of person to do that, or even stick to it if I did. I’m not exactly inclined to be that rigid with my life and I’m trying to do my best not to be too lazy with how I go about my life. There are times when I wonder what on earth I’m going to do, but there are also times when I realize that I just need a little downtime; my problem is that we all get the two easily confused. I’m in the position that I want to learn from things as I go about life and I really don’t want to miss a chance to absorb, in a good way, what’s going on around me.

Personally, I think it’s come down to a matter of personality; one person loves to have every minute of every day scheduled while the next person plays it by ear. If it comes to the point that stress is a major factor, then I think that rigidity isn’t worth all that much because we were meant for so much more than to just stress out about things. Sometimes, all we have to do is take a little look around when we’re stressed out, or too preoccupied, and then we might learn something along the way.

Leave a Reply

